ePrivacy and GPDR Cookie Consent by Cookie Consent

Goffs’ Tommy Hayes Wins Irish Thoroughbred Industry Employee Award

Everyone at Goffs was proud and delighted to see Tommy Hayes, one of the most popular members of the Goffs team, receive an Irish Thoroughbred Industry Employee Award at last night’s ceremony held at the Keadeen Hotel in Newbridge, Co Kildare and sponsored by Godolphin.

One of the longest serving staff members at Goffs, Limerick man Tommy Hayes joined Goffs in 1984 and has been an integral part of the facilities team ever since, helping to ensure that the stables, grounds and auditorium are in peak condition for every sale throughout the year.  During his time at Goffs Tommy has been closely involved in many significant developments that have ensured Kildare Paddocks remains the world-renowned sales complex it is today, but it is the personal touch that Tommy brings to the role, with his friendly, courteous manner and willingness to go above and beyond to assist clients during sales, for which he is best known.  


Congratulating Tommy on his award, Goffs Group Chief Executive Henry Beeby said:


“All of us at Goffs are so proud of our wonderful colleague Tommy Hayes and are thrilled that his hard work and dedication has been recognised by the industry in this way.  This award is richly deserved as Tommy is the epitome of hard work, loyalty and decency, and has been a key part of Goffs for almost 40 years.  As true gentleman, Tommy invariably puts others first and along with the entire facilities team, led by Ger Hennessy, does a phenomenal job in ensuring Kildare Paddocks is always in such pristine condition for the sales and that every vendor is welcomed and made to feel important, because every one of them is special”.


Sadly, Tommy was unable to attend the evening in person due to ill health but was represented by his daughter, Maria O’Sullivan who collected the award on his behalf.


The other award winners on the night were:


  • Tom Agar, Senior Groom, Jim Bolger, Co Kilkenny
  • Brian Delahunt, Stud Groom, Baroda Stud, Co Kildare who also won the Irish Racing Excellence Award
  • Edward Farrell, Stud Groom, Lisieux Stud, Co Kildare
  • Imran Haider, Barn Manager & Work Rider, Willie Mullins, Co Carlow
  • Denis Lawlor, Stud Groom, Ballyphilip Stud, Co Limerick
  • Stephanie McGinley, Stud Groom, Boardsmill Stud, Co Meath
  • Sinead O’Sullivan, Travelling Head Groom, John J Murphy, Co Cork
  • Downpatrick Racecourse